Middle School Debate Team Wins First Ever Tournament

On Thursday, May 3rd, the recently crowned Lacordaire Debate Champions celebrated their victory over Edgemont Elementary School with an ice cream treat at our local Cold Stone.

The inaugural team comprised of the following 5th grade members: Nyah Adiedo, Zelah Booker, Francesca Erb, Cyann Leverett, Gabriele Marathon, and Arya Shah. The 4th grade members included Maxwell Carmalt, William Dietrich, Charles Lawson, Julia Margolies, and Gisele Marathon. Both teams swept rounds against the veteran team from Edgemont on April 18. The team prepared for 8 weeks under the guidance of Coach Thornton and Coach Kaousias.  During the last week, the team met everyday for three or more hours after school to complete their research and preparation. Their dedication, commitment, and level of professionalism was outstanding and reflected in every aspect of their performance.

In addition to the members and coaches, we are thankful to Gabriel Mazal, our captain, who mentored the students and brought her public speaking expertise to the team.  We are also grateful to Mr. Eichman, who spent an afternoon fine tuning debaters’ rebuttal skills, and Ms. Coleman, who attended the first meeting and assisted the students and coaches in creating the initial topics of debate for the Edgemont competition.

Edgemont Debate Team was also appreciative of the Lacordaire Upper School volunteers Holly Lake, Folasade Ademefun, Jocelyn Hernandez, and 8th grade Kevin Whitworth, who generously volunteered their time as judges, joining the other seven Montclair High School students.   We congratulate all of these students on a job well done and have already accepted Edgemont’s invitation to compete in next year’s tournament.


© 2015 Lacordaire Academy All rights reserved.